Vijay Kumar Saraswat is an Indian scientist who formerly served as the Director General of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the Chief Scientific Advisor to the Indian Minister of Defence. He retired on 31 May 2013. and presently Member of NITI Aayog i.e. Planning Commission of India.

Over the years, the Society has grown into a major professional body in the field of aeronautics, aviation & aerospace. The Society has 16 branches at all the important centers of aviation in the counter viz. Agra, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Chennai, Goa, Hyderabad, Kanpur, Kochi, Mumbai, Nasik, Nagpur, Pune, New Delhi, Sunabeda & Thiruvananthapuram. Society also has Journal Division and CFD Division at Bengaluru.

Its membership of more than 11,000 is drawn from all major Aeronautical establishments such as Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. D.G.C.A., Defense Research and Development Establishments, Academic Institutions, Aeronautical Development Agency, Indian Air Force, Indian Space Research Organization, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Airports Authority of India, Air India, Pawan Hans, Aero Industry in Private Sector. Private Airlines, Defense Res. & Dev. Laboratory, Army Aviation Corps. The Society also drives its strength from financial support and active participation of its Corporate Members. The society has 59 Corporate Members from both National and International Sectors.


The Society is managed by a Council consisting of a President, President Elect, Seven Vice Presidents, the Honorary Secretary General, Honorary Treasurer and fifteen members, twelve of whom are elected and the other three nominated to represent special interests. The Council is elected every year at the Annual General Meeting. The Council manages the affairs of the Society with specialist support from its ten committees namely; Awards Committee, Academics Committee, Grading Committee, Planning & Programme Committee, Standing Committee, Finance Committee, Building Committee, Editorial and Journal Committee, Rules Committee and International Co-operation Committee. These specialist committees give direction and plans activities of the Society. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the First Prime Minister of independent India was also the First Patron-in-Chief of the Society.


National Science Fair (NSF)

National science fair 2017 was organized on 28 Feb. to celebrate national science day. The Aeronautical engineering department has taken the initiation to celebrate this national science day so a national science fair is conducted in the collage for school students to post graduate students to exhibit their innovative ideas. Dr MRM Babu outstanding scientist 'H' project director of Agni-4, ASL,Dr. N.Kishorenath scientist F,ASL were the chief guest for this event .In this event total 79 projects were exhibited, out of them 64 were school students and 215 were engineering students total 279 members were participated in this fair and made the event a grand success. MLRIT Aero students got second Prize for their project in this Science Fair